Amazing Charts User Board
Most Recent Posts
Installation Problem
by koby
46 minutes 18 seconds ago
AC Amazing Backup Service
by Bert
Today at 02:08 AM
Billing companies update with AC integration
by pierre
Yesterday at 11:17 PM
APP for iPhone - AC OnCall
by Indy
09/18/17 10:44 PM
Is anyone using patient online appointment self scheduling app?
by endo1
09/18/17 06:11 PM
IMPORT ITEMS/CATEGORIES
by [email protected]
09/18/17 02:00 PM
Editing ICD-10 codes
by Tomastoria
09/17/17 10:22 PM
New Wish List
by Qaiser
09/16/17 05:53 PM
MOC points, Up To Date and Pri-Med
by jimmie
09/16/17 05:12 PM
Harris
by Bert
09/16/17 02:32 AM
Dragon Medical One in the Cloud
by jimmie
09/15/17 05:28 PM
CVS no longer active on eprescrition
by Bert
09/14/17 02:26 PM
Still recruiting
by dgrauman
09/12/17 06:51 AM
Employee Staff Personal Use of Office Computers Facebook Cell Phones
by Bert
09/05/17 01:22 AM
disappearing notes
by Indy
08/31/17 09:39 PM
Topic Options
#71082 - 04/18/17 09:39 PM Server Specs
todd Offline
Member

Registered: 10/26/11
Posts: 306
Loc: Findlay, Ohio
OK I built a new super computer and now want to tackle a server running either windows or Linux and want to virtualize a domain controller...Can someone talk some sense into me on doing a tower and giving me some specs. I don't mind spending a bit of money. I like SSD drives...thanks...Todd
_________________________
Todd A. Leslie, D.O.

Top
#71083 - 04/19/17 02:28 AM Re: Server Specs [Re: todd]
JamesNT Offline
Member

Registered: 12/30/09
Posts: 944
Loc: North Carolina

6 Core processor. One will be fine.

16G of RAM. Four for the host. Four for the domain controller, the rest for the other VM that will run AC and other stuff.

Four 10k rpm 300G hard drives in a RAID 5 array. H700 series controller.

All set.

You can easily move up from there. SSD drives, second proc, more RAM.

Install Windows Server 2016 Standard, install Hyper-V role, then install two Windows 2016 Standard VM's. Promote one to a domain controller and install AC on the other.

JamesNT
_________________________
James Summerlin
My personal site: http://www.dataintegrationsolutions.net

Top
#71084 - 04/19/17 12:24 PM Re: Server Specs [Re: todd]
todd Offline
Member

Registered: 10/26/11
Posts: 306
Loc: Findlay, Ohio
Thanks so much I will now look for the hardware..any ideas on a good motherboard and do you like the AMD Ryzen 7 1700 3.0 GHz 8 core?
_________________________
Todd A. Leslie, D.O.

Top
#71085 - 04/19/17 01:35 PM Re: Server Specs [Re: todd]
JamesNT Offline
Member

Registered: 12/30/09
Posts: 944
Loc: North Carolina
I almost always go with Intel motherboards as you can get good deals with the motherboard and processor all ordered together.

Others may want to chime in. My recommendations will always involve some type of "business class" approach. I'm not much for the "gamer" or "cutting edge" or whatever else you want to call it stuff.

JamesNT
_________________________
James Summerlin
My personal site: http://www.dataintegrationsolutions.net

Top
#71090 - 04/19/17 06:16 PM Re: Server Specs [Re: todd]
Indy Offline
Member

Registered: 06/23/09
Posts: 1680
Loc: Western US
Originally Posted By: todd
OK I built a new super computer and now want to tackle a server running either windows or Linux and want to virtualize a domain controller...Can someone talk some sense into me on doing a tower and giving me some specs. I don't mind spending a bit of money. I like SSD drives...thanks...Todd


Been in the Data Center, so catching up.

I would start with an install of graphical Centos 7, then install whatever M$ instances you want.

I would spec at least 32G of RAM so that you can have multiple instances up to test upgrades/patches, etc

I would go with all SSD drives, either 2 RAID volumes, or for simplicity, one RAID 5 or 10 array.
_________________________
Indy
"Boss"

Indy's Blog

www.BestForYourPractice.com
Our Name is Our Creed

Top
#71091 - 04/19/17 06:18 PM Re: Server Specs [Re: Indy]
todd Offline
Member

Registered: 10/26/11
Posts: 306
Loc: Findlay, Ohio
ok now my wallet is smoking
_________________________
Todd A. Leslie, D.O.

Top
#71092 - 04/19/17 06:19 PM Re: Server Specs [Re: todd]
Indy Offline
Member

Registered: 06/23/09
Posts: 1680
Loc: Western US
Originally Posted By: todd
Thanks so much I will now look for the hardware..any ideas on a good motherboard and do you like the AMD Ryzen 7 1700 3.0 GHz 8 core?


We have been using AMD chips for in-house dev workstations for ~10 years the price/performance advantage with good success.
_________________________
Indy
"Boss"

Indy's Blog

www.BestForYourPractice.com
Our Name is Our Creed

Top
#71093 - 04/19/17 06:22 PM Re: Server Specs [Re: todd]
Indy Offline
Member

Registered: 06/23/09
Posts: 1680
Loc: Western US
Originally Posted By: todd
ok now my wallet is smoking


I will point out that I'm out seeing practices nationwide this year, and hosting one day/evening Meetups with friends and clients.

In fact Todd, I think I'll actually be near you a couple of times in the next couple of months, so I could swing by and do the install with you and throw a Meetup in the mix as well.
_________________________
Indy
"Boss"

Indy's Blog

www.BestForYourPractice.com
Our Name is Our Creed

Top
#71094 - 04/19/17 06:25 PM Re: Server Specs [Re: todd]
Indy Offline
Member

Registered: 06/23/09
Posts: 1680
Loc: Western US
Originally Posted By: todd
ok now my wallet is smoking


Samsung Pro 512G SSD - $230.

Pretty manageable
_________________________
Indy
"Boss"

Indy's Blog

www.BestForYourPractice.com
Our Name is Our Creed

Top
#71104 - 04/20/17 01:41 PM Re: Server Specs [Re: todd]
JamesNT Offline
Member

Registered: 12/30/09
Posts: 944
Loc: North Carolina
One thing I would also point out is to check out e-Bay. I'm seeing some really nice stuff go on eBay for good prices. Servers that would cost $8,000 brand new are flying out of that place for a grand. Also, hard drives that would easily run $300 brand new are leaving the shelf at $50.

However, whenever you order from eBay make certain the vendor in question has a comprehensive return policy. You never know.

JamesNT
_________________________
James Summerlin
My personal site: http://www.dataintegrationsolutions.net

Top
#71106 - 04/21/17 05:23 PM Re: Server Specs [Re: todd]
todd Offline
Member

Registered: 10/26/11
Posts: 306
Loc: Findlay, Ohio
thanks a lot. I think I have found a few that look great on ebay
_________________________
Todd A. Leslie, D.O.

Top
#71115 - 04/25/17 01:22 AM Re: Server Specs [Re: JamesNT]
Wendell365 Offline
Member

Registered: 11/09/05
Posts: 2177
Loc: Chicago, IL
Originally Posted By: JamesNT
Also, hard drives that would easily run $300 brand new are leaving the shelf at $50.
JamesNT

Are you talking new or used drives. I might use a used drive on a desktop, but feel more comfortable with a new one for the server.
_________________________
Wendell
Pediatrician in Chicago

The patient's expectation is that you have all the answers, sometimes they just don't like the answer you have for them

Top
#71116 - 04/25/17 01:25 AM Re: Server Specs [Re: todd]
JamesNT Offline
Member

Registered: 12/30/09
Posts: 944
Loc: North Carolina
I'm talking used. While I certainly won't stop you from using new drives only for a server, do note that while I may use previously owned drives, I always have them in a RAID 5 or RAID 6 array with a spare laying around.

JamesNT
_________________________
James Summerlin
My personal site: http://www.dataintegrationsolutions.net

Top
#71117 - 04/25/17 01:26 AM Re: Server Specs [Re: todd]
Bert Offline
Admin

Registered: 09/27/03
Posts: 11161
Loc: Brewer, Maine
I would never buy a used drive for a computer. But, I will read into it that it's a $300 drive going for $50 new as well.
_________________________
Bert
Pediatrics
Brewer, ME

Top
#71130 - 04/25/17 01:11 PM Re: Server Specs [Re: todd]
Wendell365 Offline
Member

Registered: 11/09/05
Posts: 2177
Loc: Chicago, IL
I will use a used drive for a desktop. All of them are backed up by the server and generally you can tell when a mechanical drive is failing (clicking noises). I have not tried a used SSD because the cost differential did not make it worthwhile (although some of my older machines are sporting 64G SSDs). Of course I don't have my desktops in raid.

The only problem with using them on the server is that I kind of leave it alone and ignore it once it's set up. Raid would mitigate failure, but I might not notice until too late.

How reliable are used SSDs and how can you tell they are failing?
_________________________
Wendell
Pediatrician in Chicago

The patient's expectation is that you have all the answers, sometimes they just don't like the answer you have for them

Top
#71138 - 04/27/17 12:31 AM Re: Server Specs [Re: todd]
JamesNT Offline
Member

Registered: 12/30/09
Posts: 944
Loc: North Carolina
SSD's are on par with spindle drives regarding failure rates.

You can tell the SSD drive fails when your RAID controller sends you an alert just like it does for spindle drives. Or, if you have no RAID, when you lose your data and have to restore from backup - just like a spindle drive.

JamesNT
_________________________
James Summerlin
My personal site: http://www.dataintegrationsolutions.net

Top
#71139 - 04/27/17 12:56 AM Re: Server Specs [Re: Wendell365]
Indy Offline
Member

Registered: 06/23/09
Posts: 1680
Loc: Western US
Originally Posted By: Wendell365
I will use a used drive for a desktop. All of them are backed up by the server and generally you can tell when a mechanical drive is failing (clicking noises). I have not tried a used SSD because the cost differential did not make it worthwhile (although some of my older machines are sporting 64G SSDs). Of course I don't have my desktops in raid.

The only problem with using them on the server is that I kind of leave it alone and ignore it once it's set up. Raid would mitigate failure, but I might not notice until too late.

How reliable are used SSDs and how can you tell they are failing?


Comparable failure rate, and same or better service life since there are no moving parts.

Most of the newer SSDs have controller logic that maps out sectors that fail write checks, which means they typically fail slowly.

If you have a full image of the desktop with everything installed, writing back onto a fresh disk is fast, especially if you have a USB3 connection.
_________________________
Indy
"Boss"

Indy's Blog

www.BestForYourPractice.com
Our Name is Our Creed

Top

Moderator:  Indy, JBS, Sandeep 
Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 6 Guests and 53 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Top Posters
Bert 11161
JBS 2466
Sandeep 2191
Wendell365 2177
Leslie 2002
ryanjo 1990
Wayne 1889
Steven 1716
Indy 1680
hockeyref 1669
Newest Members
Reed, vinodb, LIP, SEH, archana narayan
4395 Registered Users
Forum Stats
4395 Members
16 Forums
7800 Topics
70262 Posts

Max Online: 160 @ 10/14/15 08:53 PM