Amazing Charts User Board
Most Recent Posts
Ask an Updox Guy
by DoctorMel
09:53 PM
Backup Laptop
by AnneMarie
08:56 PM
An added feature under Harris
by AnneMarie
08:52 PM
Quality Payment Program Year 2: MIPS Highlights
by koby
08:36 AM
Medware
by Tomastoria
04:32 AM
Automated Vital Signs
by AmazingDave
11/20/17 08:23 PM
Upgrade to V9.4.4
by SteveH
11/19/17 07:59 PM
Cancer Registry
by DSimpson
11/19/17 03:27 AM
Censorship
by Bill
11/18/17 07:32 PM
Amazing Utilities
by GoBruins
11/17/17 06:29 PM
Problem with opening an Amazing Chart support ticket
by a_ramiz
11/17/17 03:20 PM
controlled substance electronic prescriptions
by jimmie
11/16/17 09:26 PM
Closing a Practice - Records Retention Question
by DManuele
11/16/17 03:44 PM
not sending Rx's to printer
by koby
11/16/17 01:16 PM
Are upgrades and beta testing stagnated due to upgrade procedures?
by Bert
11/15/17 09:50 PM
Topic Options
#71082 - 04/18/17 09:39 PM Server Specs
todd Offline
Member

Registered: 10/26/11
Posts: 308
Loc: Findlay, Ohio
OK I built a new super computer and now want to tackle a server running either windows or Linux and want to virtualize a domain controller...Can someone talk some sense into me on doing a tower and giving me some specs. I don't mind spending a bit of money. I like SSD drives...thanks...Todd
_________________________
Todd A. Leslie, D.O.

Top
#71083 - 04/19/17 02:28 AM Re: Server Specs [Re: todd]
JamesNT Offline
Member

Registered: 12/30/09
Posts: 956
Loc: North Carolina

6 Core processor. One will be fine.

16G of RAM. Four for the host. Four for the domain controller, the rest for the other VM that will run AC and other stuff.

Four 10k rpm 300G hard drives in a RAID 5 array. H700 series controller.

All set.

You can easily move up from there. SSD drives, second proc, more RAM.

Install Windows Server 2016 Standard, install Hyper-V role, then install two Windows 2016 Standard VM's. Promote one to a domain controller and install AC on the other.

JamesNT
_________________________
James Summerlin
My personal site: http://www.dataintegrationsolutions.net

Top
#71084 - 04/19/17 12:24 PM Re: Server Specs [Re: todd]
todd Offline
Member

Registered: 10/26/11
Posts: 308
Loc: Findlay, Ohio
Thanks so much I will now look for the hardware..any ideas on a good motherboard and do you like the AMD Ryzen 7 1700 3.0 GHz 8 core?
_________________________
Todd A. Leslie, D.O.

Top
#71085 - 04/19/17 01:35 PM Re: Server Specs [Re: todd]
JamesNT Offline
Member

Registered: 12/30/09
Posts: 956
Loc: North Carolina
I almost always go with Intel motherboards as you can get good deals with the motherboard and processor all ordered together.

Others may want to chime in. My recommendations will always involve some type of "business class" approach. I'm not much for the "gamer" or "cutting edge" or whatever else you want to call it stuff.

JamesNT
_________________________
James Summerlin
My personal site: http://www.dataintegrationsolutions.net

Top
#71090 - 04/19/17 06:16 PM Re: Server Specs [Re: todd]
Indy Offline
Member

Registered: 06/23/09
Posts: 1710
Loc: Western US
Originally Posted By: todd
OK I built a new super computer and now want to tackle a server running either windows or Linux and want to virtualize a domain controller...Can someone talk some sense into me on doing a tower and giving me some specs. I don't mind spending a bit of money. I like SSD drives...thanks...Todd


Been in the Data Center, so catching up.

I would start with an install of graphical Centos 7, then install whatever M$ instances you want.

I would spec at least 32G of RAM so that you can have multiple instances up to test upgrades/patches, etc

I would go with all SSD drives, either 2 RAID volumes, or for simplicity, one RAID 5 or 10 array.
_________________________
Indy
"Boss"

Indy's Blog

www.BestForYourPractice.com
Our Name is Our Creed

Top
#71091 - 04/19/17 06:18 PM Re: Server Specs [Re: Indy]
todd Offline
Member

Registered: 10/26/11
Posts: 308
Loc: Findlay, Ohio
ok now my wallet is smoking
_________________________
Todd A. Leslie, D.O.

Top
#71092 - 04/19/17 06:19 PM Re: Server Specs [Re: todd]
Indy Offline
Member

Registered: 06/23/09
Posts: 1710
Loc: Western US
Originally Posted By: todd
Thanks so much I will now look for the hardware..any ideas on a good motherboard and do you like the AMD Ryzen 7 1700 3.0 GHz 8 core?


We have been using AMD chips for in-house dev workstations for ~10 years the price/performance advantage with good success.
_________________________
Indy
"Boss"

Indy's Blog

www.BestForYourPractice.com
Our Name is Our Creed

Top
#71093 - 04/19/17 06:22 PM Re: Server Specs [Re: todd]
Indy Offline
Member

Registered: 06/23/09
Posts: 1710
Loc: Western US
Originally Posted By: todd
ok now my wallet is smoking


I will point out that I'm out seeing practices nationwide this year, and hosting one day/evening Meetups with friends and clients.

In fact Todd, I think I'll actually be near you a couple of times in the next couple of months, so I could swing by and do the install with you and throw a Meetup in the mix as well.
_________________________
Indy
"Boss"

Indy's Blog

www.BestForYourPractice.com
Our Name is Our Creed

Top
#71094 - 04/19/17 06:25 PM Re: Server Specs [Re: todd]
Indy Offline
Member

Registered: 06/23/09
Posts: 1710
Loc: Western US
Originally Posted By: todd
ok now my wallet is smoking


Samsung Pro 512G SSD - $230.

Pretty manageable
_________________________
Indy
"Boss"

Indy's Blog

www.BestForYourPractice.com
Our Name is Our Creed

Top
#71104 - 04/20/17 01:41 PM Re: Server Specs [Re: todd]
JamesNT Offline
Member

Registered: 12/30/09
Posts: 956
Loc: North Carolina
One thing I would also point out is to check out e-Bay. I'm seeing some really nice stuff go on eBay for good prices. Servers that would cost $8,000 brand new are flying out of that place for a grand. Also, hard drives that would easily run $300 brand new are leaving the shelf at $50.

However, whenever you order from eBay make certain the vendor in question has a comprehensive return policy. You never know.

JamesNT
_________________________
James Summerlin
My personal site: http://www.dataintegrationsolutions.net

Top
#71106 - 04/21/17 05:23 PM Re: Server Specs [Re: todd]
todd Offline
Member

Registered: 10/26/11
Posts: 308
Loc: Findlay, Ohio
thanks a lot. I think I have found a few that look great on ebay
_________________________
Todd A. Leslie, D.O.

Top
#71115 - 04/25/17 01:22 AM Re: Server Specs [Re: JamesNT]
Wendell365 Offline
Member

Registered: 11/09/05
Posts: 2184
Loc: Chicago, IL
Originally Posted By: JamesNT
Also, hard drives that would easily run $300 brand new are leaving the shelf at $50.
JamesNT

Are you talking new or used drives. I might use a used drive on a desktop, but feel more comfortable with a new one for the server.
_________________________
Wendell
Pediatrician in Chicago

The patient's expectation is that you have all the answers, sometimes they just don't like the answer you have for them

Top
#71116 - 04/25/17 01:25 AM Re: Server Specs [Re: todd]
JamesNT Offline
Member

Registered: 12/30/09
Posts: 956
Loc: North Carolina
I'm talking used. While I certainly won't stop you from using new drives only for a server, do note that while I may use previously owned drives, I always have them in a RAID 5 or RAID 6 array with a spare laying around.

JamesNT
_________________________
James Summerlin
My personal site: http://www.dataintegrationsolutions.net

Top
#71117 - 04/25/17 01:26 AM Re: Server Specs [Re: todd]
Bert Offline
Admin

Registered: 09/27/03
Posts: 11201
Loc: Brewer, Maine
I would never buy a used drive for a computer. But, I will read into it that it's a $300 drive going for $50 new as well.
_________________________
Bert
Pediatrics
Brewer, ME

Top
#71130 - 04/25/17 01:11 PM Re: Server Specs [Re: todd]
Wendell365 Offline
Member

Registered: 11/09/05
Posts: 2184
Loc: Chicago, IL
I will use a used drive for a desktop. All of them are backed up by the server and generally you can tell when a mechanical drive is failing (clicking noises). I have not tried a used SSD because the cost differential did not make it worthwhile (although some of my older machines are sporting 64G SSDs). Of course I don't have my desktops in raid.

The only problem with using them on the server is that I kind of leave it alone and ignore it once it's set up. Raid would mitigate failure, but I might not notice until too late.

How reliable are used SSDs and how can you tell they are failing?
_________________________
Wendell
Pediatrician in Chicago

The patient's expectation is that you have all the answers, sometimes they just don't like the answer you have for them

Top
#71138 - 04/27/17 12:31 AM Re: Server Specs [Re: todd]
JamesNT Offline
Member

Registered: 12/30/09
Posts: 956
Loc: North Carolina
SSD's are on par with spindle drives regarding failure rates.

You can tell the SSD drive fails when your RAID controller sends you an alert just like it does for spindle drives. Or, if you have no RAID, when you lose your data and have to restore from backup - just like a spindle drive.

JamesNT
_________________________
James Summerlin
My personal site: http://www.dataintegrationsolutions.net

Top
#71139 - 04/27/17 12:56 AM Re: Server Specs [Re: Wendell365]
Indy Offline
Member

Registered: 06/23/09
Posts: 1710
Loc: Western US
Originally Posted By: Wendell365
I will use a used drive for a desktop. All of them are backed up by the server and generally you can tell when a mechanical drive is failing (clicking noises). I have not tried a used SSD because the cost differential did not make it worthwhile (although some of my older machines are sporting 64G SSDs). Of course I don't have my desktops in raid.

The only problem with using them on the server is that I kind of leave it alone and ignore it once it's set up. Raid would mitigate failure, but I might not notice until too late.

How reliable are used SSDs and how can you tell they are failing?


Comparable failure rate, and same or better service life since there are no moving parts.

Most of the newer SSDs have controller logic that maps out sectors that fail write checks, which means they typically fail slowly.

If you have a full image of the desktop with everything installed, writing back onto a fresh disk is fast, especially if you have a USB3 connection.
_________________________
Indy
"Boss"

Indy's Blog

www.BestForYourPractice.com
Our Name is Our Creed

Top

Moderator:  Indy, JBS, Sandeep 
Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 8 Guests and 35 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Top Posters
Bert 11201
JBS 2483
Sandeep 2192
Wendell365 2184
Leslie 2002
ryanjo 1994
Wayne 1889
Steven 1716
Indy 1710
hockeyref 1669
Newest Members
KATHYS, TM Craft, Mr.Updoxer, carolep, RichieB
4409 Registered Users
Forum Stats
4409 Members
16 Forums
7846 Topics
70551 Posts

Max Online: 172 @ 11/06/17 05:20 PM