Amazing Charts User Board
Most Recent Posts
Connection to main computer lost.
by Naeem
24 minutes 9 seconds ago
Multiple offices
by Wendell365
12/14/17 04:17 PM
HIPAA compliance and physical computers
by GoBruins
12/14/17 03:58 PM
Direct Messaging
by Dawne
12/14/17 02:07 PM
Up To Date issue
by jimmie
12/13/17 10:09 PM
For those of you putting off upgrading.....
by JamesNT
12/13/17 08:38 PM
HP is installing a telemetry client - has your HP slowed down?
by rsag
12/13/17 04:59 PM
Refining ICD-10 codes in V9.4
by Tomastoria
12/13/17 03:30 PM
Changing Demographics Printout
by CharlesMS
12/12/17 11:07 PM
Website Hosting
by JamesNT
12/12/17 06:25 PM
Tampa Concierge Practice Seeking New Doc
by GatorDoc
12/11/17 03:19 PM
Automated Vital Signs
by Indy
12/11/17 01:22 PM
If you read nothing else about MIPS/MACRA please read this
by JBS
12/08/17 08:41 PM
Quality Payment Program Year 2: MIPS Highlights
by Boondoc
12/07/17 05:33 PM
Texting patients and doctors
by Boondoc
12/07/17 05:30 PM
Topic Options
#71361 - 07/06/17 02:33 PM Crashing
Scott Offline
Member

Registered: 03/24/08
Posts: 206
Does anyone else have any issues with AC crashing when you sign off on imported items?

Top
#71365 - 07/06/17 05:31 PM Re: Crashing [Re: Scott]
Bert Offline
Admin

Registered: 09/27/03
Posts: 11221
Loc: Brewer, Maine
What version?
_________________________
Bert
Pediatrics
Brewer, ME

Top
#71366 - 07/07/17 03:19 PM Re: Crashing [Re: Scott]
AlleyC Offline
Member

Registered: 07/09/15
Posts: 37
Loc: South Carolina
Mine has been doing that for about a month. 9.4.2.
_________________________
AllyC
Office Manager
Family Practice

Top
#71368 - 07/07/17 08:51 PM Re: Crashing [Re: Scott]
DoctorK Offline
Member

Registered: 01/19/15
Posts: 79
Same here. 9.32 for many months. Also occurs when making appointments.
_________________________
Dino
Rheumatology
New York

Top
#71382 - 07/08/17 04:19 PM Re: Crashing [Re: Scott]
JBS Offline
Member

Registered: 09/20/09
Posts: 2489
Loc: Baltimore, MD
One of our users gets crashes on 9.3 primarily with e-prescribing. I have not reported it, figuring that since it was one user/one machine, it was a local problem. Maybe not...
_________________________
Jon
GI
Baltimore

Reduce needless clicks!

Top
#71385 - 07/09/17 08:59 PM Re: Crashing [Re: Scott]
Scott Offline
Member

Registered: 03/24/08
Posts: 206
9.2

I had AC log on and check it out and they said it was a windows issue and not an AC issue. If I run the AC database optimizer it does go away for awhile. It's weird.

Top
#71388 - 07/10/17 01:32 PM Re: Crashing [Re: Scott]
AlleyC Offline
Member

Registered: 07/09/15
Posts: 37
Loc: South Carolina
We 3 in my office are all Windows 10. I seem to be the only one that is crashing though. I guess I could get our IT guy to check it out.
_________________________
AllyC
Office Manager
Family Practice

Top
#71419 - 07/18/17 09:33 PM Re: Crashing [Re: Scott]
SoCalFP Offline
Member

Registered: 12/08/11
Posts: 33
Loc: Southern California
Happens to me too. Rather exclusive to Main Computer, rare on clients, which can still use AC even when AC crashes on Main computer (Peer to Peer set up). Began about 6m ago v8, persisted upon upgrade to v9.4.2 At first was few times a week, now daily, sometimes twice a day. Appears to be completely random as to what is going on at the time with use of AC or concurrently running unrelated software. Only AC crashes, all other software hums along unaffected as does the OS (Browser: Chrome, email client Thunderbird, windows 10 file explorer, LibreOffice, MS Paint). Time of day also appears random, as likely in middle of business day with all staff logged on as it is late at night when I'm here alone. I have a pending tech service appt in a few weeks to have them investigate. When it crashes, all work in progress is lost, upon restart it does not recover last chart. Anytime I've been working on charting a single patient more than 15 minutes at a time I save work, otherwise it is lost if crashes. Sometimes I get impression it is associated with clicking too rapidly among a series of controls, but other times happens with a single click.
_________________________
Mike
Family Practice

Top
#71420 - 07/19/17 09:17 AM Re: Crashing [Re: Scott]
koby Offline
Member

Registered: 05/14/09
Posts: 562
Loc: Canaan CT
Sometimes I wish to return to Windows 7 and AC 6.3 smirk

Top
#71421 - 07/19/17 01:23 PM Re: Crashing [Re: Scott]
tcosta Offline
Member

Registered: 10/23/15
Posts: 59
Loc: Johnston, RI
We're on W10 and version 9.3.1 We just recently upgraded to W10 from W7 and it started within the day of upgrading to W10. Curious.
_________________________
Trista C.




Top
#71451 - 07/24/17 05:41 PM Re: Crashing [Re: Scott]
AlleyC Offline
Member

Registered: 07/09/15
Posts: 37
Loc: South Carolina
Getting tired of the crashing. crazy
_________________________
AllyC
Office Manager
Family Practice

Top
#71452 - 07/24/17 11:53 PM Re: Crashing [Re: Scott]
Bert Offline
Admin

Registered: 09/27/03
Posts: 11221
Loc: Brewer, Maine
Several questions. I suppose I am lucky given I am on 9.2 and Win7. My hats go off to those on Windows 10. I can barely use it, although I imagine if I just made the switch, I would do better.

1. Are you using the main computer for production or just as a "server?" If you are using it, how much RAM is on it? I would suggest trying not to use it as this would likely add to the chance of the crashing. Obviously, the main computer would be the only one with SQL. You really don't even need AC on it as long as SQL is installed. Although, if you are not using it, it shouldn't matter.
2. Have you tried making a different computer the main computer? You could try using it, but again, the main computer really shouldn't be used for accessing AC or doing any other work on it. I would think 4GB of RAM would be enough, but 8 would be better especially if it is in use.
3. On an actual server, it would be set to Background services. Most clients by default are set to run for programs. You can try changing it through Computer -> System Properties -> Advanced System Settings -> Advanced tab -> Performance Settings -> Adjust for best performance -> Advanced -> Adjust for best performance of: change to Background services. You would not want to use the computer in that mode.
4. AC support said it was not AC but Windows. Likely answer. Does it say in AC that it is compatible? If so, then they can't really say that.
5. Is there a way to go back to Win7 at least on the main computer?
6. Is your paging file size 1.5 times as large as your actual RAM?

OK, here is where everybody hates me, but these situations really deserve asking. It also depends on how quickly it started happening after moving to 9.3 or 9.4 or 9.4.2 or combining those with Win10. 9.4.2 is practically a beta. I rarely go to those versions until after reading these. A lot of beta testing is done right here on the user board. Generally, anytime I upgrade, I install it in a VM (something more difficult now that AC has to install it). Of course, once the computer is credentialed, you should be set. Or you can run it on a sandbox computer. I generally play with it for at least a week to check out the features, see if it has bugs which are showstoppers and check the overall speed. Plus, do the features make a big difference. I hate to say this, but like all companies and new updates, the chances for bugs is greater than an earlier stable version.

Originally Posted By: .
Rather exclusive to Main Computer

Again, are you using this computer? Or is it just crashing because it has the database?

Originally Posted By: .
Only AC crashes, all other software hums along unaffected as does the OS

I wouldn't expect the native Windows programs to crash. These are specifically designed to work with Win10.

Originally Posted By: .
I have a pending tech service appt in a few weeks to have them investigate.

Is this with AC or an outside tech company? Either way a few weeks is a few weeks too long. You need tech support like tomorrow.

Is there anyway to change the main computer back to Win7. Reformat to Win7 Pro, don't install anything on it except AC with SQL. Of course, run the updates. Then, put it in a corner and never use it. If the crashing is gone, then buy another computer to use as a client.

It seems like Win10 in the common denominator. If it is only the main computer, you could try installing VMWare and installing Win7 and running SQL there.

Anyway, lots to try. I would say changing the performance settings, adding RAM if 4 or less and not using the main computer would be the first things to try.
_________________________
Bert
Pediatrics
Brewer, ME

Top
#71593 - 08/25/17 04:40 AM Re: Crashing [Re: Bert]
DManuele Offline
Member

Registered: 09/03/12
Posts: 46
Loc: WA
Lots of crashes here, AC 9.3.1 build 194. Occurs on both Win 7 and Win 10 computers. Happens to me more than other users and seems more likely when I am moving fast, checking something back and forth between past and current note, or between Rx screen and current note (dx for narcs, diabetes supplies and the like). Sudden crash with "AC has stopped working...." Fortunately, consistently when I open AC and log back in it offers to retrieve the last note. Woe is me if I don't act on that when offered, its a one-shot chance. Don't remember it happening as often in version 9.2. Thinking about upgrading to 9.4, but release notes say nothing about a bug fix for such a problem. Also not obviously acknowledged in "known issues."

Not obviously related to the annoying version 9.3 nag screen when trying to log out, "are you sure... There are other windows open... (but there aren't...).
_________________________
Don Manuele, D.O.
Solo Family Practice, Sequim, WA

Top
#71594 - 08/25/17 12:50 PM Re: Crashing [Re: Scott]
Bert Offline
Admin

Registered: 09/27/03
Posts: 11221
Loc: Brewer, Maine
On the latter, yeah just log out if that is what you want to do. In general, when there are multiple issues, it isn't because of one bug which can be isolated.

Certainly 9.4 may be the answer simply because it is a new version despite that lack of specifying any problems. I know there have been some issues with others with slow or crashing AC programs, but I am not seeing a ton, which may be caused by some issues on your computer + the new version. It seems like Adobe may cause some of these.

If you could give more info on your hardware: computers, OS, RAM, space left on hard drives. Ethernet speeds, i.e. Cat5e or Cat6. Router and switch speed, mainly router. Wired or wireless.
_________________________
Bert
Pediatrics
Brewer, ME

Top
#71596 - 08/26/17 09:34 PM Re: Crashing [Re: Scott]
SoCalFP Offline
Member

Registered: 12/08/11
Posts: 33
Loc: Southern California
There appear to be two forum topics concurrently exploring this issue, the other one being
“When will AC just work?”. This one appears to be more specific, and I have added my subsequent response here. To summarize from my earlier posts here 7/18/2017 and on “When will AC just work?” dated 8/11/2017 and 8/12/2017:

Small practice, 1MD, 3 staff, 5 computers, OS Windows10 (3 laptop i3 4Gb version: home clients; 2 desktops [1 client, 1 Main] running Professional), Main computer reasonably powered i7 16Gb, peer to peer network. AC v9.4.2.

My practice experiences frustrating AC crashes as well. While they are sporadic, infrequent, and tolerable on my Client computers, they range from weekly to twice a day on my Main computer. I keep a log of what I was doing when the crash occurred with screenshots as the computer permits of AC, AC Admin Log, and WindowsEventViewer. Although there is some lack of consistency in the logged data, about 50% of the events involve an open patient chart using File/Addendum text box, often with an interfaced radiology report open in another window from which I am copying and pasting text. The most frequent WindowsEventViewer error message is “Faulting module name: AcroPDF.dll_unloaded, version: 11.0.10.32, time stamp: 0x547e970c”, curiously the time stamp is always the same over several weeks of 22 logged crashes. The second most common situation seems to be when I am movng fast rapidly clicking control buttons as commented by at least one other user above. I have already had AC tech support remotely login and investigate unsuccessfully. Most recently in response to Indy's suggestion on “When will AC just work?” I rebooted SQL server by Restarting the Main computer, which was also unsuccessful, although introduced an unrelated frustrating loss of network connectivity among computers which was eventually solved by turning every computer and network hardware device off, then brought power up on each one in this order: CableEthernetModem, Router, WAP, Switch, Main, Clients.

I will monitor this forum topic periodically for any further helpful insights.
_________________________
Mike
Family Practice

Top
#71597 - 08/27/17 11:01 PM Re: Crashing [Re: Scott]
Bert Offline
Admin

Registered: 09/27/03
Posts: 11221
Loc: Brewer, Maine
Hi Mike,

First, this is tough to troubleshoot, because even though there are three or four people having similar issues, they are different issues, and there are four out of many. So, you have a multitude of variables. Different client OS, different hardware, laptops with home versions, etc. We still don't know your actual bandwidth between computers. The interesting thing in your situation is that the one where bandwidth shouldn't matter is the main computer. And, it is more than reasonably powered. The other variable is you are running 9.4.2 as most above, and this is going to be the most likely version to have issues.

As I say all the time, and I guess most don't agree, is you just shouldn't be using your main computer with AC or anything. Not sure from your post if it just crashes or if it crashes, because you are using it. Is computer properties in Advanced set to background services or programs. Of course, that is a non-issue if you are using the Main Computer. Again, looking at the AcroPDF.dll error, have you run the computer with that program completely shut down? In troubleshooting, it is helpful make one change at a time and isolate problems by removing them from the equation.

It is also strange to some degree that you lost all connectivity just by rebooting the main computer. What Indy is suggesting is not to reboot, although you can, but simply to type services.msc in your search box or run box, fine SQL for AC, and restart it. Not completely sure how the connectivity is set up there, but if you haven't changed anything, then it is likely under system. There is a problem if you have to go to all that trouble to reconnect each computer. We also have the added problem of wireless, which will always be an added problem in every network that has wireless. Period.

One thing I can tell you with 100% certainty is that with v9.4.2, and running the default setup, you are using SQL Server Express 2012. You are not running Standard. Unless you recall a) shelling out $500 to $600 for standard, then more money for licenses and then finding some type of SQL guru to set up your new AC instance on the standard SQL, you are running Express. And, with your setup, you don't need anything more than Express, and while I understand Indy's suggestion as just more more troubleshooting step, you shouldn't need to clear it daily.

The fact that the issue is on your main computer, where you are running AC directly to SQL, which should give you nearly no latency, it says volumes. Either about the version of AC or something to do with that computer. This is where running a server with Hyper-V, with AC on a single VM is helfpul. Just give up on 9.4.2 and click on 9.1 checkpoint, and you are back to 9.1. Of course, you would need a good backup, and God only knows if you can restore it without the help of AC. One of the main reasons I don't upgrade anymore.

I can't find the post, but one person on one of these threads reported back last week that he had fixed the issue after troubleshooting quite a long time by purchasing a new computer with high specs after he had purchased a new switch. I don't think he is using it as a client. I can't suggest enough not to use your main computer as a production computer. For one thing, you can set up the new computer with the latest CPU from AMD, give it at least 16GBs of RAM, set for background services, check the use for best performance, maybe run an A/V, and only run AC. Then run one computer directly to the new computer and see how it runs. The worse case scenario is you get a brand new computer to run as a main.

FYI: Rather than use task manager to monitor performance, you may want to use perfmon or, even better, Process Explorer: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/downloads/process-explorer
_________________________
Bert
Pediatrics
Brewer, ME

Top
#71598 - 08/29/17 04:57 PM Re: Crashing [Re: SoCalFP]
Indy Online   content
Member

Registered: 06/23/09
Posts: 1717
Loc: Western US
Originally Posted By: SoCalFP
.... I rebooted SQL server by Restarting the Main computer, which was also unsuccessful, although introduced an unrelated frustrating loss of network connectivity among computers which was eventually solved by turning every computer and network hardware device off, then brought power up on each one in this order: CableEthernetModem, Router, WAP, Switch, Main, Clients.

I will monitor this forum topic periodically for any further helpful insights.


A couple of things to note here:

>Restart SQL Server from the services interface. You can run services.msc as a short-cut, or go through the Control Panel to the Administrative tools and get to services that way.

>With the recent versions, we are finding that what works reliably for connecting to the AC main machine has changed. The most reliable way to point to the AC database is now via a static IP path. i.e. When AC asks to browse to the main computer, use the static network path ==> \\[192.168.1.100]\Amazing Charts\ insert your machine's IP into the path.

If your AC 'server' isn't on a static IP, it is past time to change it to one.

This also means that mapping AC as a network drive is now out-of-favor as the prefered method.
_________________________
Indy
"Boss"

Indy's Blog

www.BestForYourPractice.com
Our Name is Our Creed

Top
#71599 - 08/29/17 07:46 PM Re: Crashing [Re: Scott]
JBS Offline
Member

Registered: 09/20/09
Posts: 2489
Loc: Baltimore, MD
Can you elaborate on that, Indy. I assume we should go back and change our connections.
What would be the consequences of the old way of mapping? Are you saying that might explain crashes?
_________________________
Jon
GI
Baltimore

Reduce needless clicks!

Top
#71600 - 08/30/17 03:42 AM Re: Crashing [Re: Scott]
Bert Offline
Admin

Registered: 09/27/03
Posts: 11221
Loc: Brewer, Maine
First, any server and that would include a main computer, should have a static IP. But, if you are peer-to-peer, then by default, your IP will generally always be the same since you don't have a DHCP server unless, of course, your router is giving out IPs. Either way, your main computer you be static.



You can get to your NIC or Network adapter via Network and Sharing Center in Win 7, likely relatively the same in Windows 10.

Here you will see a network adapter which is set up to be dynamic and the DHCP server either on the server or router will give it an IP. This is generally best for clients, because router DHCP server (the "server" which gives out IP address and default gateways and DNS) generally doesn't screw up. Most of client will maintain their same IP even when it expires, but there is always the possibility that the DHCP server will assign it another IP. This is why most hardware like printers and scanners are set up with a static IP. But, if the "main computer" is given a different IP, there could be problems. This is why using the name is safer as it doesn't change. However, if you do change the name, which would be done manually, then all clients pointed to that computer would no longer be connected. Therefore, if you used an IP address (which was static) meaning it would ALWAYS be that IP and you connected via that address \\192.168.10.2\Amazing Charts for instance. Either way you are connecting to the same main AC and SQL server. The path is the same, you are simply using the IP address of the "main computer" vs the name of the "main computer."

In the example above, you would click the radio button to use the following IP address, and type in the IP address manually. Easiest to just use whatever settings you had previously if it were assigned automatically. Using ipconfig at a command prompt. Using the ipconfig command will give you your subnet mask, default gateway (has to be the same on all computers), your DNS and your IP. You just need to keep the same subnet, ie. if you were 192.168.10.x, your IP would have to be 192.168.10.x where x is any number between 2 and 254 (assuming your gateway is x.1 -- of course, you can't use any other IP that is in use currently). But, just easiest to use the current settings. If they are already in the Use the following IP address, then it is already static.

For some reason, using the IP address is sometimes better, although I have seen it work better for some who have difficulty connecting to AC and not so much crashing. It is simple to try. if you aren't sure what the current IP is you can pull up a command prompt: Run -> type "cmd" without the quotes, then you type: ipconfig to get the network settings for that computer, i.e.

C:\users\username>ipconfig

192.168.10.2
255.255.255.0
192.168.10.1

If you wanted more information, say the computer were connected to an actual server or router giving out settings, you would type: ipconfig /all

HTH. I tried to make it as confusing as possible.

This is something John Ryango has suggested for months.
_________________________
Bert
Pediatrics
Brewer, ME

Top
#71734 - 09/27/17 02:42 AM Re: Crashing [Re: Scott]
SoCalFP Offline
Member

Registered: 12/08/11
Posts: 33
Loc: Southern California
Solved:

Thanks for all the helpful suggestions.

I have deliberately slowed down the pace of my clicking from one control to another in AmazingCharts, which has resulted in a rather dramatic decrease in AmazingCharts crashes on the problematic Main computer. None of the other software applications on the Main computer crash when clicking from control to control rapidly like I experience with AmazingCharts.
_________________________
Mike
Family Practice

Top

Moderator:  Indy, JBS, Sandeep 
Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 13 Guests and 42 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Top Posters
Bert 11221
JBS 2489
Sandeep 2199
Wendell365 2192
Leslie 2002
ryanjo 1997
Wayne 1889
Steven 1718
Indy 1717
hockeyref 1669
Newest Members
ITFACTOR, mturner, Mbiller, Waldron, Dru
4419 Registered Users
Forum Stats
4419 Members
16 Forums
7862 Topics
70657 Posts

Max Online: 186 @ 11/25/17 05:44 AM