Amazing Charts User Board
Most Recent Posts
Free Up Space
by DocGene
Today at 07:13 PM
E-Rx with Exostar, as Verizon will no longer support Controlled E-Rx
by Bert
Today at 07:19 AM
AC in the cloud vs. server based
by jimmie
Today at 06:07 AM
User preferences
by Tomastoria
Today at 03:30 AM
Archiving old patients from AC data base
by JamesNT
Yesterday at 05:14 PM
Printing growths charts
by Boondoc
Yesterday at 12:28 AM
MACRA/MIPS requirements for 2018
by Tiffany
02/20/18 04:15 PM
AC access slow, aka server is slow
by Bert
02/19/18 03:26 AM
Labs and Diagnostics.
by Dru
02/18/18 07:15 PM
sql 2012 sp4 update
by beagle
02/16/18 07:12 PM
Upgrade Costs?
by Bert
02/13/18 11:46 PM
Amazing Charts User Board Link
by Indy
02/13/18 12:20 AM
Structured family history
by DoctorMel
02/12/18 02:36 PM
Confidential information charting
by JBS
02/12/18 12:47 AM
MIPS/MACRA attestation
by joseph
02/11/18 09:20 PM
Topic Options
#71949 - 11/12/17 07:09 PM Amazing Utilities
GoBruins Offline
Member

Registered: 08/30/12
Posts: 389
Hi all,

When is it appropriate (and not appropriate and dangerous) to use the Amazing Utilities?
_________________________
Gianni

Top
#71950 - 11/12/17 08:21 PM Re: Amazing Utilities [Re: GoBruins]
Bert Offline
Admin

Registered: 09/27/03
Posts: 11326
Loc: Brewer, Maine
They actually can be helpful. However, like anything else, if it ain't broke...

But, if yo are having some issues, it may help solve them or, at the very least, show you have a problem.

You can use it to test speed between computers. Also, there was a time when I was a "Do everything best practices way," so I would use AmazingUtilities to move the SQL databases to the data drive. This works, but not for the faint of heart and since you MAY upgrade at some point, it scares me a bit to see if the new installer finds SQL. Plus, I am not always sure support will either have wanted you to move them or if they are very familiar with the move. I would guess less than 99% of people do. Personally, I not just install AC on the data drive

Again, a great reason for a standalone computer or a VM. VMs are great for this. Of course, only for the same version frown
_________________________
Bert
Pediatrics
Brewer, ME

Top
#71954 - 11/13/17 03:03 PM Re: Amazing Utilities [Re: GoBruins]
GoBruins Offline
Member

Registered: 08/30/12
Posts: 389
Thank you, Bert.

I just want to make sure we're talking about the same utility.

_________________________
Gianni

Top
#71955 - 11/13/17 07:12 PM Re: Amazing Utilities [Re: GoBruins]
carlfogel Offline
Member

Registered: 09/26/12
Posts: 59
Dear Gianni,

In case this is just confusion about where the well-hidden options are . . .

Bert was talking about things seen only if you click on the "Advanced Options" or "reset paths" on the Amazing Utilities opening screen.

Cheers,

Carl Fogel

Top
#71956 - 11/14/17 12:27 AM Re: Amazing Utilities [Re: GoBruins]
GoBruins Offline
Member

Registered: 08/30/12
Posts: 389
I see. Thank you.

So my understanding is...this is meant to be run from a workstation, and not the Server?
_________________________
Gianni

Top
#71957 - 11/14/17 01:52 AM Re: Amazing Utilities [Re: GoBruins]
Bert Offline
Admin

Registered: 09/27/03
Posts: 11326
Loc: Brewer, Maine
You can use it over the network, but for most things I would run it on the server. Definitely wouldn't want to move databases from a client.
_________________________
Bert
Pediatrics
Brewer, ME

Top
#71980 - 11/17/17 06:29 PM Re: Amazing Utilities [Re: GoBruins]
GoBruins Offline
Member

Registered: 08/30/12
Posts: 389
OK - thanks as always.
_________________________
Gianni

Top

Moderator:  Indy, JBS, Sandeep 
Shout Box

Who's Online
0 registered (), 1 Guest and 46 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Top Posters
Bert 11326
JBS 2510
Sandeep 2210
Wendell365 2193
ryanjo 2004
Leslie 2002
Wayne 1889
Indy 1744
Steven 1718
hockeyref 1673
Newest Members
Cronus, DanARS, lajohnston, JessieARS, Bunkee
4443 Registered Users
Forum Stats
4443 Members
16 Forums
7906 Topics
71086 Posts

Max Online: 186 @ 11/25/17 05:44 AM